Dick's Picks Volume 35
Home ] Pig Pen Thru T.C. ] Pig Pen Post T.C. ] Keith '71 - '72 ] Keith '73 - '74 ] Keith '75 - '79 ] Brent '79 - '86 ] Brent '87 - '90 ] Hornsby Welnick ] Compilations ]

SEARCH
Home
Up
Download Series Family Dog
Dick's Picks 4
Bear's Choice
Family Dog 4/18/70
Dick's Picks 8
Road Trips Vol 3 No. 3
Three From The Vault
Ladies and Gentlemen
Skull and Roses
Road Trips Vol 1 No. 3
Dick's Picks Volume 35
 

Set Lists

Musicians

Notes

Dick's Picks Volume 35 Dick's Picks Volume 35 - Grateful Dead
8/7/71 - San Diego, CA
8/24 - Chicago, IL
Filler - 8/6/71 - Hollywood, CA
 
 
 
Order: GDM or Grateful Dead - Dick's Picks, Vol. 35: San Diego, CA 8/7/71 and Chicago, IL 8/24/71
 
030105GratefulDead iTunes downloads

Dick's Picks 35 review

Dick's Picks 35 review

Have you heard about the background of the tapes used for Dick's Picks 35, The Legend of the Houseboat Tapes? From this discovery, this tasty release packs in (can you believe?) one complete concert from 8/7/71, one very lengthy segment (all that's available) from 8/24/71, and a stunning excerpt from 8/6/71. A generous serving of music for sure. I hope you're hungry!

The year 1971 was a transitional period for the Grateful Dead with Mickey leaving the band and Pigpen taking a less dominate role. As a result, much of the music was a four piece band. One benefit of the small line-up is being able to hear each member clearly.

Throughout the three performances one overwhelming theme that thrilled me is Phil's dominance; whether pushing the band through basic Pigpen R&B numbers, the dancing bass lines through tracks like "Cumberland Blues," or dropping the bombs on fan favorites like "China Cat Sunflower" > "I Know You Rider," and "Morning Dew." 

Dick's Picks 35 begins with the complete show from 8/7/71, from San Diego. It is a high-powered, energetic affair, both sets. In fact, the only slow song is the soulful "Sing Me Back Home." The show includes several country numbers and this line-up nails this material.

"Hard to Handle" is a scorcher. Phil dominates early and doesn't let up. Too, Garcia is brilliant, first, with his crunchy rhythm chops. Eventually Jerry and Phil lock into jam that goes on for some time that hits several peaks and yields an explosive conclusion that rivals the rendition from Ladies and Gentlemen. That's not all, the flatpick / fingerpicking runs that Jerry expresses to bring the song to a conclusion is ear catching and will be music to your ears. 

Next up is the Chicago, which begins on the end of disc 2 and continues through to the beginning of disc 4. This show includes a few rarities. The Pigpen song "Empty Pages" was only played three times. It is a ballad rather than a typical Pigpen led blues track. Jerry helps define the composition with a melodic guitar solo. A very early (first or second) performance of "Brown Eyed Women" caught me off guard without the developed introduction that is so familiar. From what I can gather, Chicago was the only performance of "Brown Eyed Women" prior to Keith's arrival.

A superb selection of filler was included from the 8/6/71 show, basically the end of the concert. It begins with "The Other One" and squeezes "Me and My Uncle" within it. The jam portion after "Uncle," Bobby plays portions of what would later be "Weather Report." 

Dick's Picks 35 includes a few Pigpen showstoppers, "Good Lovin'" and a 25 minute rendition of "Turn On Your Lovelight." One of 1971's signature Grateful Dead musical passages is the "Not Fade Away" > Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad" medley. This release includes two strong renditions; the 8/7 version has a spacey jam segment conclusion with a good transition into "Johnny B. Goode," while 8/24 is preceded with an energy packed "St. Stephen."

How does Dick's Picks 35 compare with Ladies and Gentlemen you ask? Very well. Ladies and Gentlemen is better sonically and the two major jams from disc three and four from it still reign. However, the jam segments on Dick's Picks 35 are solid, and the stand alone songs as a whole are at least equal, and in most cases preferable. Jerry is aggressive, sharp, crisp, and accurate throughout.

Dick's Picks 35 offers a very generous dose of musical gems from 1971. The missing treasure has been found and can be yours.  
by Barry Small © 
Grade  B + 

Order: GDM 

Some 1971 photos of Jerry and more!

 
Dick's Picks 35 review

A Note About Dick's Picks #35: 
The Legend of the Houseboat Tapes
Although the Dead's vault is enormous and impressively full, the band certainly doesn't have a tape of every show it played; in fact, they don't even have a copy of every show they recorded. Tapes drifted off in a variety of ways - including Jerry Garcia handing them out… And therein lies the story of Dick's Picks #35.

This spring, our archivist David Lemieux got a call from Donna Jean Godchaux-Mackay. It seems that in the late summer of 1971, just before Keith Godchaux began rehearsals with the Dead, Garcia handed him a big box of tapes and said, “Here, this is our most recent tour. Learn our music.” The irony was that Donna Jean doubts mightily Keith ever bothered to listen to them - he'd never listened to the Dead all that much before he auditioned, first with Garcia and then the rest of the band - he just had an uncanny innate facility for the music. In any case, he left the tapes on his parents' houseboat in Alameda, and there they stayed. For 35 years.

In the spring of 2005, his brother Brian and son Zion were cleaning out the houseboat, found the tapes, and gave them to Donna, whose jaw dropped. One call to Lemieux later, and the Dead's long-lost missing tour from the summer of 1971 had resurfaced. Master tapes include April 28 and 29 at the Fillmore East (released as Ladies and Gentlemen, taken from the multi-track masters), the 7/31 Yale Bowl (alas, blank), a small piece of the Hollywood Bowl, Berkeley Community Theatre, and others.

Dick's Pick #35 is the complete San Diego (8/7/71) show, all that was salvageable of the 8/24 Chicago show, and an hour-plus from the Hollywood Bowl (8/6), which is all that existed on the tapes. 

Barely a soundboard-recorded note of that tour's music circulates among Dead Heads, so this is a truly remarkable find. How they survived 35 years in a watery environment simply proves, yet once again - if you needed convincing - that God smiles on the Grateful Dead.
Liner Notes - Dennis McNally

Order it today from GDM

Dick's Picks 35 review
Track List

 Top of Page

Disc 1

8/7/71 -San Diego
Big Railroad Blues
El Paso
Mr. Charlie
Sugaree
Mama Tried
Bertha
Big Boss Man
Promised Land
Hard To Handle
Cumberland Blues
Casey Jones

Set Two
Truckin'

Disc 2
8/7/71 -San Diego

China Cat Sunflower>
I Know You Rider
Next Time You See Me
Sugar Magnolia
Sing Me Back Home
Me And My Uncle
Not Fade Away>
Goin' Down The Road Feelin' Bad>
Jam>
Johnny B Goode
8/24/71 - Chicago
Uncle John's Band
Playing In The Band
Loser


Disc 3
8/24/71 - Chicago
It Hurts Me Too
Cumberland Blues
Empty Pages
Beat It On Down The Line
Brown-Eyed Woman
Saint Stephen
Not Fade Away>
Goin' Down The Road Feelin' Bad>
Not Fade Away
Me And Bobby McGee
Big Boss Man
Brokedown Palace


Disc 4
8/24/71 - Chicago

Good Lovin'

8/6/71 - Hollywood Bowl
The Other One>
Me And My Uncle>
The Other One
Deal
Sugar Magnolia
Morning Dew
Turn On Your Lovelight

Dick's Picks 35 review
Musicians:       

Top of Page

Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboard, vocals, harmonica
Bill Kreutzmann - percussion

Dick's Picks 35 review
Notes:

Top of Page

Released - June 17, 2005
Label - Grateful Dead 
Tape Archivist - David Lemieux
CD Mastering - Jeffrey Norman
Recorded by Rex Jackson
Liner Notes - Dennis McNally
Cover Art and Package Design: Robert Minkin
Photos - Chuck Pulin, J. C. Overlock, Emerson-Loew.

Intro. to "The Other One" is from an audience recorded by Harvey Kaslow and Craig Todd.

The liner notes include an abundance of treats including the Legend of The Houseboat Tapes story and loads of photographs.

HDCD provides higher resolution when played in an HDCD-equipped CD player, and offers superior sound when played in regular CD players. HDCD CDs can be played in all CD players.

Dick's Picks 35 review
Some 1971 photos of Jerry and more! 
Ed Wolpov©
Dick's Picks 35 review

 

Comment or suggestions thebestofwebsite (at) yahoo.com