Home ] Steely Dan discography ]

Can't Buy a Thrill
Countdown to Ecstasy
Katy Lied
The Royal Scam
Alive in America
A Decade of S. Dan
Showbiz Kids: S. D. Story

Apple iTunes

Set Lists



Citizen Steely Dan Citizen Steely Dan cd review
Order: Amazon 

Citizen Steely Dan review

Citizen Steely Dan review

Citizen Steely Dan includes their first seven albums on four cd's. It also includes the following extras:
1. "FM" - The soundtrack to the movie. 
2. "Bodhisattva" - Recorded at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium,
    June, 1974 released as the "B" side of "Hey Nineteen" in 1980. 
3. "Here At The Western World" from the sessions for The Royal Scam,    
    originally on released on the 1978  LP Greatest Hits 
4. "Everyone's Gone To The Movies" - Demo

The only drawback to the Citizen Steely Dan package is that albums carry over from disc to disc so if you want to hear Aja, it is spread over two discs, beginning on the third and concluding on disc four. On the other hand, you have seven albums plus on four discs, plus a well written book. 

If Citizen Steely Dan  included loads of unreleased material such as outtakes and early live recordings; of course spread out over six discs I'd be more impressed. In fairness, bonus tracks were not common in 1993.

The albums included are:
Can't Buy a Thrill
Countdown to Ecstasy
Pretzel Logic
Katy Lied
The Royal Scam

Barry Small
A +

Citizen Steely Dan track list
Track List

 Top of Page

Disc 1
  1. Do It Again 5:56 Can't Buy a Thrill
  2. Dirty Work 3:08 Can't Buy a Thrill
  3. Kings 3:45 Can't Buy a Thrill
  4. Midnite Cruiser 4:08 Can't Buy a Thrill
  5. Only A Fool Would Say That 2:57 Can't Buy a Thrill
  6. Reelin' In The Years 4:37 Can't Buy a Thrill
  7. Fire In The Hole 3:28 Can't Buy a Thrill
  8. Brooklyn (Owes The Charmer Under Me) 4:21 Can't Buy a Thrill
  9. Change Of The Guard 3:39 Can't Buy a Thrill
10. Turn That Heartbeat Over Again 4:58 Can't Buy a Thrill
11. Bodhisattva 5:18 Countdown to Ectasy
12. Razor Boy 3:11 Countdown to Ectasy
13. The Boston Rag 5:39 Countdown to Ectasy
14. Your Gold Teeth 6:59 Countdown to Ectasy
15. Show Biz Kids 5:26 Countdown to Ectasy
16. My Old School 5:46 Countdown to Ectasy
Disc 2
  1. King Of The World 5:04 Countdown to Ectasy
  2. Pearl Of The Quarter 3:49 * Previously Released
  3. Rikki Don't Lose That Number 4:32 Pretzel Logic
  4. Night By Night 3:40 Pretzel Logic
  5. Any Major Dude Will Tell You 3:08 Pretzel Logic
  6. Barrytown 3:22 Pretzel Logic
  7. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo 2:49 Pretzel Logic
  8. Parker's Band 2:45 Pretzel Logic
  9. Through With Buzz 1:34 Pretzel Logic
10. Pretzel Logic 4:32 Pretzel Logic
11. With A Gun 2:18 Pretzel Logic
12. Charlie Freak 2:45 Pretzel Logic
13. Monkey In Your Soul 2:36 Pretzel Logic
14. Bodhisattva 7:44 * Previously Released
15. Black Friday 3:41 Katy Lied
16. Bad Sneakers 3:19 Katy Lied
17. Rose Darling 3:05 Katy Lied
18. Daddy Don't Live In That New York City No More 3:15 Katy Lied
19. Doctor Wu 3:57 Katy Lied
20. Everyone's Gone To The Movies 3:44 Katy Lied
21. Chain Lightning 3:01 Katy Lied
Disc 3
  1. Your Gold Teeth II 4:14 Katy Lied
  2. Any World (That I'm Welcome To) 3:55 Katy Lied
  3. Throw Back The Little Ones 3:14 Katy Lied
  4. Kid Charlemagne 4:38 Royal Scam
  5. The Caves Of Altamira 3:33 Royal Scam
  6. Don't Take Me Alive 4:16 Royal Scam
  7. Sign In Stranger 4:23 Royal Scam
  8. The Fez 4:01 Royal Scam
  9. Green Earrings 4:05 Royal Scam
10. Haitian Divorce 5:51 Royal Scam
11. Everything You Did 3:55 Royal Scam
12. The Royal Scam 6:31 Royal Scam
13. Here In The Western World 4:02 * Previously Released
14. Black Cow 5:10 Aja
15. Aja 8:00 Aja
16. Peg 3:57 Aja
Disc 4
  1. Deacon Blues 7:36 Aja
  2. Home At Last 5:35 Aja
  3. I Got The News 5:07 Aja
  4. Josie 4:31 Aja
  5. FM 5:05 * Previously Released
  6. Babylon Sisters 5:50 Gaucho
  7. Hey Nineteen 5:07 Gaucho
  8. Glamour Profession 7:29 Gaucho
  9. Gaucho 5:32 Gaucho
10. Time Out Of Mind 4:13 Gaucho
11. My Rival 4:31 Gaucho
12. Third World Man 5:14 Gaucho
13. Everyone's Gone To The Movies 3:59 * Previously Released
Citizen Steely Dan musicians

Top of Page

Donald Fagen - Keyboards, Vocals 
Walter Becker - Bass, Guitar
Additional Musicians:  
See the individual albums for other credits.  

Citizen Steely Dan Credits

Top of Page

Label MCA
Released 1993

Citizen Steely Dan - Ordering


Comments or suggestions - webmaster (at)